At Rosendale we enjoy talking about our learning . We take time during the week to have conversations on a 1:1 basis and as a whole class. I thought it would be a nice idea to share some of the reflections we have had.

orla writing

Orla wrote this piece of writing back in March. She was struggling with the formation of the letter d. We had a big discusion about where we could look if we were finding it hard to write a letter. We both decided that the writing table was the best place to look. When Orla now writes, she often pops off to the writing table without having to be asked to do so. When asked what she is doing, she response, “Making sure I’m forming my letters correctly.” Without taking the time to have a conversation about where she could look and allowing her to decided on the best place, I feel I would have to direct her more. Taking the time has allowed Orla to take ownership of her learning and made her a more independent learner.

